School of Medicine

Wayne State University School of Medicine

Third annual Wayne State University-University of Michigan Joint Physiology Symposium brings a day of shared rewards

The poster finalists and winners pose with the symposium coordinators and other officials.

The poster finalists and winners pose with the symposium coordinators and other officials.

The Wayne State University Department of Physiology hosted the third annual Wayne State Univeristy-University of Michigan Joint Physiology Symposium on Aug. 24, bringing together the strengths of both departments.

The symposium, started in 2010 by Jian-Ping Jin, M.D., Ph.D., chair of WSU Physiology at Wayne State, and Bishr Omary, Ph.D., M.D., professor and chair of Molecular and Integrative Physiology at the University of Michigan, was created to bring together two major Michigan research departments, traditionally strong in education and research, to promote, initiate and strengthen integrative collaboration in physiological research.

“Our aim is to connect faculty, students and research fellows in our departments to identify complementary expertise, encourage new collaboration projects and sustain existing teamwork,” said Drs. Jin and Omary. “Our ultimate goal is to build a foundation for multi-PI joint research grants.”

Held every other year at Wayne State University, the symposium opened with remarks by Valerie M. Parisi, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., dean of the WSU School of Medicine. Oral presentations and a poster session presented by faculty, students and post-doctoral students from both universities and Henry Ford Hospital followed.This year’s symposium saw 85 posters on display in Room 1328 and the cafeteria in Scott Hall.

Awards for the top four posters from each university were conferred by Ambika Mathur, Ph.D., interim dean of the WSU Graduate School. Xuequn Chen, Ph.D., assistant professor of WSU Physiology, and Liangyou Rui, Ph.D., associate professor of U-M Molecular & Integrative Physiology, coordinated this year’s symposium.

The winners were Chandni Jain, Francina Gonzalez De Los Santos, Vanesa Ramseyer and Ziauddin Syed from Wayne State University, and Sarah Kampert, Megan Greenwald-Yarnell, Elise Demitrack and B.J. Holtz from the University of Michigan.
Bookmark and Share