School of Medicine

Wayne State University School of Medicine

WSU docs among the 25 Most Influential Black Doctors in Detroit

John Flack, M.D., M.P.H.

John Flack, M.D., M.P.H.

Kertia Black, M.D.

Kertia Black, M.D.

A number of Wayne State University School of Medicine faculty and Wayne State University Physician Group physicians will be honored among the 25 Most Influential Black Doctors in Detroit in April.

Blackhealth Magazine will recognize the physicians at an April 15 awards banquet at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center.

Wayne State University physicians to be recognized include John M. Flack, M.D., M.P.H., professor of Medicine and Physiology, and Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine; Kertia Black, M.D., assistant dean for Student Affairs and associate professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Reginald Eadie, M.D., clinical assistant professor of Emergency Medicine and president of Detroit Receiving Hospital; Natalia Tanner, M.D., clinical professor of Pediatrics; Aaron Maddox, M.D., clinical assistant professor of Internal Medicine; Herman Gray, M.D., clinical associate professor of Pediatrics and president of Children's Hospital of Michigan; Michael Wood, M.D., clinical professor of Surgery; John Barnwell, M.D., clinical assistant professor of Surgery; Jeffrey Clark, M.D, clinical associate professor of  Anesthesiology; Patricia Wilkerson-Uddyback, M.D., assistant clinical professor of Emergency Medicine; and Yvonne Friday, M.D., assistant professor of Pediatrics.

"I am very pleased and honored that my body of work led to my recognition as one of the 25 most Influential Black Doctors in Detroit,” Dr. Flack said. “When I peruse the list of other honorees I fully recognize the esteemed company that I am in. This is just a great, great honor."

Marcus Oaks, publisher of Blackhealth Magazine, said the physicians were selected based on peer recommendations and the magazine’s own research into the accomplishments of the physicians to be honored. The award is an etched crystal plate.

The banquet, Oaks said, will feature a prominent keynote speaker, but he declined to name that person.

“I am very honored to have been selected for this award,” Dr. Black said. “It is my hope that I have played a small part in providing good health care to our patients in this region.”

Other doctors to be honored at the banquet include Lorna Thomas, M.D.; Edward Clay, D.D.S.; Terry Baul, M.D.; Lonnie Joe Jr., M.D.; Beth Carter, M.D.; William Woodruff, D.D.S.; Susan Harold, M.D.; Lisa Newman, M.D.; Barbara Ann Hannah, M.D.; Charles Boyd, M.D.; Kenneth Jamerson, M.D.; and J. Victor Eagan, D.D.S.

Tickets for the black tie banquet, which will begin at 7 p.m., are $50 each. Tickets for a special VIP get-together before the banquet are $65. For tickets and more information, visit

Bookmark and Share