School of Medicine

Wayne State University School of Medicine

National EEG society awards Dr. Nash Boutros top honor

Nash Boutros, M.D.

Nash Boutros, M.D.

A Wayne State University School of Medicine professor has been recognized with the top award from the Electroencephalography and Clinical Neurosciences Society, an organization he helped found in the 1960s.

Nash Boutros, M.D., professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences, will receive the E. Roy John Award for career contribution to Neuropsychiatric Electrophysiology on Sept. 13 in Bristol, Tenn. The award will be presented at the joint annual meeting of the EEG and Clinical Neurosciences Society, the International Society for Neuroimaging in Psychiatry and the International Society for Brain Electromagnetic Topography.

The award is given in recognition of contributions to the understanding of sensory gating or habituation in clinical neurosciences in normal and psychopathological conditions. Sensory gating describes neurological processes of filtering out redundant or unnecessary stimuli in the brain from the environment. Dr. Boutros and colleagues defined the abnormality in schizophrenia patients and the delineation of the neural systems involved in mediating the function.

The Bloomfield Hills, Mich., resident is an internationally-recognized expert in Electrophysiology recruited to WSU from Yale University, said David Rosenberg, M.D., interim chair of the WSU Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences.

“He is quantitating findings on the EEG and getting a non-invasive brain fingerprint that has huge diagnostic and treatment implications,” Dr. Rosenberg said.

Dr. Boutros is director of the School of Medicine’s Psychiatric Clinical Electrophysiology and Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation laboratories and associate chair for Research in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences. He has made it his life’s work to bring the electrophysiological assessment of neuropsychiatric disorders to the forefront of medicine. The ECNS society acts as the gatekeeper for the electrophysiology movement, in which psychiatry is not an abstract science but instead utilizes EEG technology for diagnosis, he said.

“As I am one of the founders of this organization, my pride comes from the fact that the ECNS is thriving and is achieving the goals that the original founders envisioned – developing and leading the clinical applications of electrophysiology technology in diagnosing and managing neuropsychiatric disorders,” Dr. Boutros said. “As the nomination is not limited to members of the organization, this becomes a real honor to be placed among individuals with recognized contribution to this field.”

He received the society’s Presidential Service Award in 2007.

The late Dr. John founded the Brain Research Laboratories at the New York University School of Medicine in 1974, serving as director for more than 30 years.
Bookmark and Share