School of Medicine

Wayne State University School of Medicine

Board of Governors presents Faculty Recognition Award to Dr. Abou-Samra

Abdul Abou-Samra, M.D., Ph.D.

Abdul Abou-Samra, M.D., Ph.D.

A Wayne State University School of Medicine professor who distinguished himself with significant scholarly achievement has been honored with a 2011 WSU Board of Governors Faculty Recognition Award.

Abdul Abou-Samra, M.D., Ph.D., professor of Medicine, Physiology and Molecular Genetics, and chief of the Division of Endocrinology, recently received the award, which consists of a citation from the board, an engraved wall plaque and a monetary award. The awards are presented annually to full-time faculty members who make outstanding contributions to scholarship and learning.

The board of governors recognized Dr. Abou-Samra for obtaining a prestigious T32 postdoctoral training grant of nearly $1 million from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases of the National Institutes of Health. The grant aims to address the decrease in academic endocrinologists who have both clinical skill and research expertise by motivating young endocrinologists to pursue a combined research and academic track that will prepare them to become the future leaders of endocrine research.

Endocrine-related illnesses include diabetes, metabolic syndrome, obesity and osteoporosis, all of which are major public health concerns because of their prevalence and devastating complications, including heart attack, stroke, blindness and kidney failure. These illnesses can have adverse effects on other major diseases of the cardiovascular, renal, nervous, gonadal and digestive systems.

“The management and prevention of these diseases have become the mandate of primary care physicians,” said Dr. Abou-Samra. “Most endocrine fellowship programs produce clinical endocrinologists who are only skilled in a clinical setting and lack much-needed research skills. With this grant from the NIH, we will address the decreasing number of academic endocrinologists with research skills who will transition into the academic setting, ultimately leading our future research programs.”

Other winners of the Board of Governors Faculty Recognition Award include:

Michael Giordano, associate professor in the Department of Classical and Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, for his text, “The Art of Meditation and the French Renaissance Love Lyric.”

William Harris, professor of English in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, for his book, “Birth of a Notion; Or, The Half Ain't Never Been Told.”

Osumaka Likaka, associate professor of history in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, for his book, “Naming Colonialism: History and Collective Memory in the Congo, 1870-1960.”

Kypros Markou, professor of Music and director orchestral studies in the College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts, for his work as conductor of the London Octave on the Dutton Epoch compact disc “American Serenades.”

Bookmark and Share